CBR Finals – Night One

CBR Finals

 In his fourth attempt, Sage Steel Kimsey took Benny Cude’s unridden CBR Bull of the Year “Penny Lover” to 7.46 seconds on the clock during the Mahindra Max Moment on the Road to Cheyenne bonus matchup at night one of the CBR World Finals from the Cheyenne Frontier Day’s.                  Ric Andersen photo.

    The CBR World Finals round one unfolded in front of a packed house at Daddy of em’ All in Cheyenne, WY. last night. Each bull rider attempted two bulls, with the top rider after two rounds getting a shot at the bonus bull. The CBR World Championship was expected to be a dogfight with the top five in the world, world number one Sage Kimsey, number two Trey Benton, number three Aaron Pass,  number four Eli Vastbinder, and number five, PRCA World Champion Cody Teel, all having a legitimate shot at the CBR World Title and the $100K that goes with it.

    The top two in the world, finished out round one in the same order, Sage Kimsey with a round winning 90.5, and Benton right behind him with a 89.5 . J.W. Harris 89, Cory Maeir 88.5, and Garret Smith rounded out the top five. The bull riders gave the crowd something to cheer about, putting  a total of 14 qualified rides on the board.

   In round two, it was more Kimsey and Benton, splitting the round with 90 point rides, and not budging a bit in the battle for the World title. World number three Aaron Pass, kept his name in contention by finishing the round third with 89.5 point score. Cody Teel, Corey Bailey and Cory Maier split 4/5/6 with 89 point rides, and Neil Holmes rounded out the scores in round two with an 88.

    After finishing the night in the number one spot, Sage Kimsey had the opportunity to take on Benny Cude’s unridden CBR Bull of the Year “Penny Lover” for their fourth match up in the Mahindra Max Moment on the Road to Cheyenne bonus  for his chance to win a Mahindra Max tractor. Kimsey had not been successful on his first three match ups against “Penny Lover”, but last night looked like he was going to get it done. Unfortunately for Sage, it wasn’t meant to be, as Kimsey came up just short of the whistle at 7.46 seconds.

    It all comes down to tonight, with less than one rides worth of points separating the top two Cowboys, and the remaining top five, still having a shot with tonight’s possibility of three bulls. Tonight’s format will return to standard format used at the CBR Cinch Tour events throughout the regular season. The top 24 riders will all receive a first round bull, the top 12 from round one will get a shot at a second round bull, with the top 4 in the average on 2, coming back to a clean slate winner take all for the event, Championship Round. With the prestige of the Cheyenne event title, and the World Championship on the line, the final night of the CBR Finals is sure to be barn burner. stay tuned to www.wheretheybuck.com for updates and results.

Round 1

1. Sage Kimsey 90.5

2. Trey Benton 89.5

3. J.W. Harris 89

4. Cory Maier 88.5

5. Garret Smith 87.5

Round 2

1./2.  Sage Kimsey 90

1./2. Trey Benton 90

3. Aaron Pass 89.5

4./5./6. Cody Teel 89

4./5./6. Corey Baily 89

4./5./6. Corey Maier 89


1. Sage Kimsey 180.5

2. Trey Benton 179.5

3. Corey Maier 177.5

4. Cody Teel 175

5. Cooper Davis 172.5

6. Aaron Pass 98.5

7. J.W. Harris 89

8. Corey Bailey 89

9. Neil Holmes 88

10. Garret Smith 87.5

11. Jared long 87

12. Robson Aragao 87

13. Tyler Adrian 87

14. Cole Echols 86.5

15. Eli Vastbinder 85

16. Josh Barentine 79


Leave a Reply